2012 Winners

Club Champion: Dan Vought

Conceived and donated by the Huntsman family in 1997, this trophy is awarded to the skipper who earns the most points in the following areas: participation, performance, versatility and service.

Michael O’Keefe Service. Jack Leigh

John English Spirit Award. Bob Pulsch

E. Van der Leur Seamanship. Wendy Elovich

Monmouth Museum Trophy . Dan Vought

Donated in 1973 by the Monmouth Museum as a perpetual trophy to be presented to the winner of the class in the Fall Series that has the most boats start.

Miltenberger Trophy . Bob Markoff

Donated by the late Eugene F. Miltenberger to promote interest in sailboat racing. Awarded to the winner of one race sailed in a class boat determined by the race committee. Eligible skippers are senior MBC members and their senior dependents who have not won an MBC summer series, National Sweeps, or this trophy.*

Women’s Championship. Cattanach/Elovich

Donated by Eileen Ewing in 2012 to encourage and promote MBC women sailors The regatta shall be sailed in an available class boat decided upon by the skipper participants. In the event that a consensus regarding boat class cannot be reached by the participants, the first rear commodore will cast the tie-breaking vote. Three races shall be scheduled but one race shall constitute a regatta. Eligible skippers and crews shall be MBC women members 18 years of age and over. Number of crew shall be guided by class rules, safety considerations and will also take into account that any eligible woman who wants to sail should be accommodated.

One Design Bridge Race Series. Jackie Cattanach

Cruising Bridge Race Series – Cruising 1 . Pezutti

Cruising Bridge Race Series – Cruising 2 . Ladoulis/Farley

Rowing Fleet Award. Katya Hanson

Borden L. Hance, Jr. Plaque . Taugh Lynch

Donated by Brub Hance, Former Commodore, for the winner of the Spring Series in the WoodPussy Fleet.

Howard L. Hathaway Memorial Bowl. Taugh Lynch

Donated by friends of the late Howard L. Hathaway, Jr., an officer of MBC, and a WoodPussy sailor, for the winner of the summer series in WoodPussys.

Cox Trophy. George Harrington

Winner of the Lightning Summer Series

Bob Howson WoodPussy Bridge Race Trophy. Joe Burns

Performance and participation in the Bridge Race Series

Neil Clifton Trophy . No boat qualified

Donated by Neil G. Clifton, former commodore, for the winner of the Fall Series in the WoodPussy Fleet.

Lars Olsen Plaque. Patrick Corr

Winner of the Lightning Spring Series

Joe Focarile Spinnaker Award. Art Petrosemolo

Donated by the Cruising Fleet to honor fleet members in four categories.

Dr. Edwin Field Navigator Trophy: Marilyn Cheslow

Donated by Bruce Hance in 2007, presented to the cruising fleet member who makes the longest voyage (out and back)between floats in and floats out each year

Fleet Championships

Best 24 races on the Navesink.

Flying Scot Champion. Dan Vought

Lightning Champion. Pat Corr

WoodPussy Champion. Taugh Lynch

Other Awards

Distinguished Service Award

Conceived by the Board of Trustees in 1994, this award is presented to a member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to Monmouth Boat Club.

Leah Russell Trophy

For Novice Women…..Donated by Mrs. E. Dixon Russell, to encourage racing among the ladies. Awarded each year to the winner of a three-race series in a class boat to be determined by the race committee. Eligible contestants are senior ladies who have not won an MBC Summer Series.

Fleet Championship Trophies in Flying Scot, Lightning, Sanderling and WoodPussy

For the best 24 races on the Navesink in each of the class names above

The Bob Howson WoodPussy Bridge Race Trophy

Donated by the MBC WoodPussy Fleet to a WoodPussy sailor for performance and Participation in the MBC Bridge Race Season.

E. Van der Leu Seamanship Award

Return to current Award Winners